Mindset, Confidence and Evolving Tactics

Tactics can and should change over time as our abilities grow. As we get older, retire or change jobs they may change in what we consider a backwards direction.

Confidence in our current ability occurs by matching our ability to our tactics. Lack of confidence in our abilities can lead to panic. Much of the panic stems not from what is happening but from the inability to stop it (i.e. what I’m doing isn’t working.) As we are learning a new tactic or changing our current one there is a point where we believe that tactic could be performed in life to an acceptable level. Until that point it might be wise to mentally perform the tactic we want to do and reserve use of the new tactic until later.

What I could do as a new shooter is certainly a small list compared to what I can do now. What I could do as a police officer at the peak of my career shooting close to 15,000 dedicated rounds a year is not the same as I can do now, shooting 1,500 rounds a year. They are different abilities. Therefore tactics have to change.

We often have an all or nothing mentality. We want to take a two-day class and be able to use those new tactics immediately. We can only learn so much at any one time. We must then gain the proper ability to perform those tactics through practice. All of this takes some amount of time.

Some of the tactical questions that might change with our abilities:

  1. Where to shoot on the torso, middle of the torso or high chest area?
  2. Do I take head shots?
  3. If stuck between distances from contact to full arm extension, where do I shoot from?
  4. How is #3 above effected by my growing ability to move and shoot?
  5. At what distance can I shoot from to protect a third-party?
  6. In #5 above what does the sight picture on my pistol look like when shooting a human sized torso from that distance?
  7. What is my shoot or retreat distance?
  8. Why is #7 above a rough line in the sand between tactics?
  9. Will I move and shoot or move, stop and shoot?
  10. As I get better at moving will I move and shoot to the body and stop and shoot to the head?
  11. When can I use a planned action such as a failure/Mozambique drill? *See next post.
  12. What do I need to see in training/practice for all the above questions answered as a, “Properly trained” shooter?

The list could grow very large, but you get the idea.

 

Leave a Reply

